“On Puppets and Poetry” (short essay)

OldBoys:puppets

Sherron and I each take a unique approach to our respective disciplines.

She employs found objects, invented mythologies, and sheer whimsy to concoct fairy tales exploring the magical aspects of the natural world, the spirits infusing boreal forests, ancient river valleys and the place where the ice meets the sea.

As for me, well, I’ve never put much stock in consensual reality, my writing set in grey areas, (sub)liminal zones, the vast, unbridgeable chasms that can suddenly yawn beneath us, threatening everything we hold most dear.

“Between the idea and the reality…falls the shadow”, as Eliot succinctly stated.

That’s me: Keeper of the Shadowland.

I think it’s safe to say both Sherron and I are artistic unicorns, one-offs, and this piece I’ve written (and recorded) celebrates our distinctive approach to our art and the way our minds work while creating.

I’ve provided both print and audio versions so tuck in.

…and here’s the PDF:

On Puppets:Poetry (Essay)

One comment

  1. Laird Brittin

    Beautiful Cliff. I’m a fairly recent consumer of poetry as well as puppetry, only since I’ve known you and Sherron really. Your words ring so true for both of these artistic modes. I marvel as a piece of poetry creates a new world. As a Sedna puppet can take me into a separate dimension. How fortunate we are to have the receptors to enjoy such art.

    May I suggest that a song can act in a similar way. Poetic words set to an imaginative musical score can affect me in ways similar to your description how poetry and puppetry can open new worlds.

    You can certaily pack in a powerful message in just over three minutes Cliff. Enjoyed his so much.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.