“The First Room”, CBC Radio “OutFront”

images

Okay, Kelley Jo Burke,  producer of my adapted radio play “The First Room”,  just  e-mailed me with the date and time it will air on CBC Radio’s OutFront program.

OutFront is a nationally broadcast program so this is a real coup for me.  What makes it triply pleasing is that Kelley Jo has done a brilliant job with the piece, blending and cross-cutting the voices, creating a powerful and intense listening experience.  I listened to the final mix she sent me about ten days ago and was absolutely gobsmacked.

I don’t write memoir, detest it as a vehicle for whinging, suck-ass apologists who’ve fucked up their lives and expect our sympathy for their travails.  Or else they lie and embroider to lure in more suckers.

“The First Room” is not factually true but it is emotionally accurate and that’s an important distinction.

I hope you’ll get a chance to tune in–either listening to your radio at the appointed hour or streaming it from CBC.  As well, Sirius Satellite (137) will be broadcasting “The First Room” throughout North America.  I believe there’s also a podcast.

“The First Room” airs from coast to coast to coast Friday, February 6th at 8:43 p.m.  For further information, here’s a link to the “OutFront” page.

If you do manage to catch it, drop me a line afterward with your thoughts.

I’d appreciate hearing from you.

One comment

  1. Kendi

    Just listened to “The First Room”…chilling, engaging, entertaining..oh yes..dark, unflinching.

    Beautifully produced, the soundtrack of the Wizard of OZ juxtaposed with some of the voices and content..well done.
    And that is your voice isn’t it Cliff? Being interviewed? That gave it a very nice dimension…
    As always you cut to the bone man, and this time the hand that held the razor is more mature, in my humble opinion, just as deadly and accurate, but more nuanced and subtle.
    Well done!

    I think I will go back and listen to it again

Leave a Reply

