“So Dark the Night” is here!!

Cover

What a night! We’ve got fifteen year old Glenlivet scotch waiting to be poured, a celebratory drink after loading my biggest and best novel onto this blog. And we can make it an anniversary party as well—it’s almost a year to the day since we started our strange l’il site, Sherron pushing new technologies on me, tempting me with promises that they would permit me to bypass the old, traditional publishing structure I despise and approach readers directly. It was a very enticing vision.

Tonight, part of that dream is coming true for me.

Here’s my brand new book, a funny, scary, noirish thriller and I’m presenting it to you through the auspices of my blog, no editors, no agents, no bookseller…just you and I, dear Reader, the most intimate transaction conceivable. Is this the way the future will be?

So Dark the Night is a terrific book. Not a terrific blog novel or e-book, a terrific book period. The fact that I’ve been forced to publish it myself to my mind reveals something seriously fucked up in the publishing biz. How could they let this one slip through their fingers? It’s got everything going for it: funny, attractive leads, supernatural demon spawn galore…

I don’t want to go on and on, there will be ample opportunity to talk about the genesis and lengthy gestation of this novel in the days to come. No project has challenged me as much or rewarded me so amply for my efforts. I love this book, love the two central characters like old friends. It is a pleasure to introduce you to Cassandra Zinnea and Evgeny Nightstalk. They’re creatures of the night without the pointy teeth and aversion to garlic. They frequent shadowy, darkened streets and confront the uncanny and ghastly with cool heads and stout hearts. They make a great team, brains and brawn, beauty and the beast–their adversaries should be on their guard, these are two operatives who don’t scare easily, investigators with nerves of steel.

Here’s a link to the pdf (also posted on the “Novels” page). Be warned, however: once you read those first couple of pages, you might find it hard to stop…

So Dark-excerpt

15 comments

  1. John

    Cheers Cliff. I confess I will kill a tree to print it; it’s the only way to read anything worthwhile except for short pieces. Still, I would not have found it if not for your blog, so cheers to Sherron too. Give this slow reader a while to read it! John

  2. John

    Optimized print settings should allow 2 pages per 8.5×11 page. Double-sided. Should be able to print this at just over a hundred recycled pages. Acceptable, I think.

    I assume Cliff used double-spacing for readability. Perhaps consider single-spacing in the future?

  3. maxine101

    Once again the clever bastard has stolen from my life.
    Damn that Nightstalk and his Casebooks
    Shadows play on darkness Burns better invest in some infrared glasses

  4. qugrainne

    So Dark the Night is sitting on my desktop… read to page eighteen before heading out for the Great Easter Brunchathon. Something nudged a little spot somewhere in the temporal lobe… hmmmmm….. Spider Robinson! So I had to haul out Callahan’s Crosstown Saloon and put it on the bedside table. You have read it?

    I am enjoying So Dark the Night, but I surely would much rather have a book in my hand. Believe me, I understand the frustration, but publishing on-line, with no compensation, is just crappy. I am curious to hear how it works out for you.

    Jo Walton, fellow Canadian, was called a scab by science fiction writer Howard V. Hendrix (who I have never read, so there you go) for publishing her stuff on-line. I think that’s going a bit far, but what’s an author to do?

    I am enjoying your blog, and have added it to my bookmarks of “Daily Read for Writer at the Coffee Shop,” which is how I start the best days.

    Good luck with this experiment.

  5. maxine101

    Am on page 202, this would be easier if I could take my puter to bed….

    reminded me of something…

    ” “Everybody’s got a secret, Sonny
    Something that they just can’t face
    Some folks spend their whole lives tryin’ to keep it
    They carry it with `em every step that they take
    Till some day they just cut it loose— cut it loose or let it drag `em down
    Where no one asks any questions, or looks too long in your face
    In the darkness on the edge of town”
    ( B R U C E S P R I N G S T E E N )
    now back to the book…

  6. samanthawhat

    Hi Cliffy,
    OMG.
    Talk about technologically challenged. I just spent 15 minutes getting an Word Press Account and trying to log in to say …

    HELLO.
    I am curious about yet another piece of work from Clliff Burns. Way to go! I have to echo the comments made by someone else about the lack of compensation. If there is a writer in this country that has shown commitment it is you my friend. May your on line version bring you attention and recognition that you and your many years deserve.

    Give my love to Sherron. I am impressed with her technology skills.
    All the best
    Samantha
    (- what… do you mean that username is already in use!) (Iqaluit, dogsleds, midwife, Ontario etc)

  7. remittance girl

    I started and didn’t stop.

    Gorgeous! Wonderful! Oh, what a great story. I loved it.

    Would you consider serializing it online, instead of offering it as a single download?

    It gives people more of a chance to praise it *wink*

  8. Jill

    Congrats on the new book. I’ve considered self publishing but… would probably have to actually FINISH a novel first.
    How inconvenient… lol

    Thanks for the words of encouragement. I’ll keep that in mind. 🙂
    -Jill

  9. litlove

    Congratulations, Cliff! It’s wonderful to see this out and to witness so much enthusiasm and support for your work! That’s just fantastic! You deserve it.

  10. Rajeshwaran S P

    Congrats on your new book. Just now got it saved on my desktop. Should be printing it soon and reading! Coz! reading on paper is always a delight.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.