A Message From The Management

Thank you.

What else can I say?

Posting my novel So Dark the Night on this site was, as I’ve stated all along, an act of raw desperation. Sixty-five fucking idiot editors and even more literary agents took a pass on this novel, would not give it even two minutes of their priceless time. The only courtesy most of them extended me was a form rejection letter.

So your responses, the posted comments and private communications you’ve sent me, have thrilled and moved me more than I can say. You love the book, love Cassandra and Evgeny and that’s all I need to know.

It’s not about vindication. That’s too self-righteous and prideful. I had every confidence that readers would enjoy So Dark the Night and I was baffled and enraged when no one in the publishing world recognized the enormous appeal of the characters and full throttle narrative I’d devised for them. The cold shoulder I received was unexpected (to say the least) and I was rattled by the non-reaction the manuscript elicited.

That’s why I’m so grateful when I see how many of you have visited this site since we posted So Dark the Night. It’s enormously satisfying to visualize people all over the world, from the Far East to the Wild West, reading about the exploits of my dynamic duo of the night as I write these words.

I welcome your thoughts and please don’t be shy about posting comments (or writing to me c/o blackdogpress@yahoo.ca).

And don’t forget, there’s more to come…

* * * *

Apologies, by the way, for the paucity of posts of late.

After you publish a book, the next thing you have to expend your energies on is promoting said book and that is exactly what I’ve been doing. Plugging So Dark the Night hither and yon, letting folks know it’s out there, available for reading.

In the interval since my last post I’ve joined Redroom, an on-line community of writers, some of them famous, most of us not. I’ve written a number of short pieces there, even loaded on a couple of my favorite YouTube clips. Check it out:

Cliff’s Redroom Page

As always, thanks for dropping by and catching up.

And, please, folks, for the good of civilization and the betterment of our species, for God’s sake KEEP READING.

7 comments

  1. jamesviscosi

    This sounds pretty much like my experience in the world of publishing. Eventually one gets tired of letters that say “really liked this but don’t know how to market it”. The last straw for me was waiting seven months to get contracts from my publisher for my fantasy novel Dragon Stones; I finally pulled the plug on the deal (to my editor’s chagrin; she said it was the best book she’d seen at that house in years) and started the self-publishing process through Lulu.com. I’ve been considering making PDFs available from my site. Your experience seems to have been positive so perhaps I’ll go ahead and do it. Still haven’t quite decided yet.

    I will have to go grab a copy of your book and give it a read. Best of luck with it!

  2. S. Le

    I’m going to give it a look as well.

    Really like your website.

    I am interested in what you and James have to say about self publishing. Do you get a lot of reads? How do you promote it? I’m certainly not ready with my novel yet but am quite interesting in your views. Hoping you will continue to share them here.

  3. K.S. Clay

    I understand how frustrating rejections can be, but also remember that there’s barely a published author today that wasn’t rejected many times before getting that way. I’d also say that a lot of the times the agents and editors aren’t really rejecting your manuscript but your query letter. There’s a big difference. I noticed with my last novel that simply altering the query changed the number of positive responses I got. I haven’t read any of your stuff yet, so I can’t specifically judge your work, but just remember you’re not alone and rejections now do not mean rejections later on other projects or by other agents and editors.

  4. marcys

    Cliff: It is wonderful to find writing like yours in the blogosphere.

    My publishing experience mirrors yours, and has continued that way all my life, and I am twenty years your senior. (Sorry for the bad news.) I no longer believe that persistence is all you need, or that all good writing finds its way into print. It’s a sad situation. I welcome blogging as a subversion of the publishing industry.

    I’m planning to read your novel as soon as I get the time.

  5. dfrucci

    Very nice. I read the first two pages, but I can’t read anymore for today. Nice opening to a novel, surprised it has been rejected! You have a talent in writing.

  6. yvonnelindsay

    Cliff, all the very best with your novel. Great to see such diversity out there in the market place and in the meantime, keep the faith. I think the thing that protects all author’s in the long run is their ego and their belief that publication of their work will happen. Quitters never publish.

Leave a Reply

