“’76 Corral” (the audio version)

Some time ago I posted a poem I wrote while Sherron and I were in Grasslands National Park.  Received some lovely feedback from folks and I rather liked the poem, so…

I’m now posting an audio version of “’76 Corral”.

The vocal part was recorded on location (as it were), just outside a giant metal storage shed in Val Marie that could’ve comfortably housed the Hindenberg (fully inflated).  There’s also a looped track I grabbed as we stood in some tall grass inside the park, keeping one eye out for rattlers.

So there’s an authentic feel to this one, an attempt to reproduce the atmosphere of the place…but also the thoughts and emotions that beautiful southwestern Saskatchewan landscape inspired.

Have a listen:

’76 Corral (MP3)

3 comments

  1. KarenW

    The recording is incredible. It really did bring authenticity and a real feeling of hearing stories from the beyond. Thanks for sharing it.

  2. Cliff Burns

    Thanks for the kind words, folks. New technologies allow artists of all disciplines to explore other media, giving them access to modes of expression previously denied them. I feel fortunate to have tools like Garageband and iMovie available to me—now I have a far bigger sandbox to play in!

Leave a Reply

