Coming Soon to Your Bookshelves…

The Last Hunt is in the can.

Finis.

Now we’ve moved on to the production phase. Our pal Chris Kent has taken the cover art and executed a brilliant book design which I’ll be posting in the days to come.  There will also be, as usual, a sizable excerpt from the book that will be available for free reading and downloading.  Daniel Middleton over at Scribe Freelance is handling the formatting of the interior (text) files; he also performed similar duties with Of the Night and my novelette “Eyes in the Sky” and did uncommonly well.  He’s patient, considerate and professional.  A true pleasure to work with.

I’m still getting queries from folks asking what the heck I was thinking of, spending a year working on a western novel when I could be, you know, developing another project in my “Ilium” cycle, concocting a grand adventure involving our favorite sleuths Cassandra Zinnea and Evgeny Nightstalk. To which all I can say is “I know, I know…”

My muse simply refuses to concede to logic and reason.  2011 was going to be the year of my gunfighter book and that was that. Never mind the enormous research required, including a trip down to Yellowstone Park to eyeball the terrain and scout locations for various scenes in my book. The revisions were murderous, my nerves shot by the time I was done.

The good news is The Last Hunt is a superb novel.  Not just superb western novel, a superb novel period.  Even readers who aren’t fans of the genre are going to find it a really fun and entertaining read.  Frank Seaver makes an attractive central character and the story roars along like a runaway freight train.

Still anticipating a release date of the end of March and, no, please (folks are already asking), no pre-orders, it gets really darn confusing.  Wait until the official announcement and then you’ll be able to grab the book, e-book or Kindle version.  Patience, my children, patience

In the meantime, I’m in recovery mode after getting a giant molar extracted yesterday.  I went in expecting to get a crown but the tooth in question was more damaged than I realized, split right to the root and infected. So now I’m on antibiotics and pain-killers…and I’m looking at either a bridge or implant, both highly expensive options.  Thank God for a dental plan that will help offset the cost, at least to some extent.

Sorry for the delay in posting.  I’ve been meaning to provide an update but it’s been pretty hectic now that we’re officially in production.  More announcements and teasers in the days to come.  I’m really chuffed, happy as an expectant father can be.

Stay tuned.

(Photo:  Wyatt Earp around the time of the infamous shootout at the O.K. Corral)

Leave a Reply

