“So Dark the Night” (Various)

Where to begin?

Let’s start with the fact that orders for So Dark the Night are rolling in.  The book continues to sell on Amazon and in a variety of formats.  Friends and people who’ve followed my work for a long time have been clamoring for their copies and I have done my best to oblige as quickly as possible.  On Friday, Sherron and I made a quick trip in to Saskatoon and hit some of the major bookstores.  Now readers in my favorite city will be able to buy So Dark from McNally-Robinson, Indigo Books, Turning the Tide and Stu Cousins’ fabo music emporium, “The Vinyl Diner” (on Broadway Avenue; tell him I said “hello”).  Even donated one copy of the Saskatoon Public Library.  Why not?

Jim, the manager at Indigo, provided me with my most gratifying reaction of the day.  I introduced myself and I could tell he was hesitant about taking on any new stock but as soon as he got a look at the cover, he grabbed the copies I’d brought in with me.  Thanks, Jim.

I’ve been plugging the book wherever possible but, of course, one walks a fine line when doing any promo; I don’t wanna come across as a “shill” but, at the same time, I’ve got a wonderful book that should make everybody’s summer reading list so I want to do what is necessary to spread the word.

I’m preparing for the reading and book launch we’re having here in town on Thursday, trying to decide which excerpts to read, rehearsing, etc.  I like to put on a good show…especially when I have my pal Laird Brittin “opening” for me, playing a couple of original tunes, including two we wrote together.  It’s going to be a fun evening so if you’re in the area, swing on by.

Last night Sherron and I searched out locations around town and shot footage for a book trailer we’ll be cutting together this week.  Plan on releasing it on YouTube and I’ll be sure to let you know when it’s up and running.

My thanks to the people who’ve already bought and read So Dark the Night, dropping me notes filled with kind words and praise.  Folks, you’re the reason I keep putting pen to paper.  It sure as hell ain’t the money or any desire for fame, I’ll tell you that.

To you, this author dedicates his work…and his life.

4 comments

  1. The Necromancer

    Huh?…I always thought it was the money. Glad to see the book is getting around. To Saskatoon and beyond. That’s kind of like infinity, but different.

  2. Cliff Burns

    Yeah, I have to admit it’s nice to have a presence in a physical, bricks and mortar bookstore. Call me old-fashioned but these e-books and affiliated gadgets just don’t hold much interest to me. Now I just have to make sure the bookstores who stock SO DARK THE NIGHT don’t dump it into the “Local Interest” or “Canadiana” section. I’d rather have my toes torn off with red hot pincers. Put me in General Fiction, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Mystery, even (urk!) Horror but for Chrissakes don’t lump me in with the truly dreadful “regional” writers this country produces like locusts.

    As ever, a pleasure to hear from you—you’re a regular here and there’s always a good table available for you, the drinks on the house…

  3. Karen

    Wowser! This is great. I think I’m going to have to stock up on flashlights and lightbulbs though before picking up the book, as even the “book trailer” scared me. I imagine I’ll enjoy the page turning, but may not be sleeping with the lights off for awhile 🙂

    Congrats and enjoy the ride!

  4. Cliff Burns

    Oh, it’s a spooky book, all right. But it’s also fun and there are a lot of laughs and tears. It runs the gamut, emotion-wise. More than anything else, it’s an entertaining read, the perfect summer book. Trust me, it’s more fun than a barrel full of monkeys (on angel dust). Hopefully, you’ll find that encouraging…

Leave a Reply

