“So Dark the Night” is here…and ready for ordering

All right, readers, it’s official.

So Dark the Night is now available and ready to be added to your bookshelves.  Maybe you’ll take Stefan Dziemianowicz’s advice and slot me in between Jorge Luis Borges and William S. Burroughs.  I think that would make a very nice fit, frankly.

There are a number of ordering options open to you.  You can purchase my novel through Amazon.com and a number of affiliates there or you can pick up the e-book OR you can buy the Kindle version.  However, if you’d like signed, personally inscribed copies, I’m afraid zipping your orders my way is the only way to manage it.  If that’s your choice, click on this link and it will take you to my bookstore where you’ll find So Dark the Night and several of my other titles (though most of them are available in very limited quantities).

You’ll find all the necessary info there, including shipping rates.

What can I tell you, folks?

If you’re looking for a fast-paced, exciting read, a thriller in every sense of the word, So Dark the Night is for you.

Imagine a combination of “The X Files”, H.P. Lovecraft and Raymond Chandler and you’ll get at least some idea of what I’m talking about.  It’s the perfect “summer reading” adventure, featuring the most likable and endearing tandem of sleuths since Holmes and Watson.  Plus the book will scare the living crap out of you.

What more could you ask for?

So…check out So Dark the Night, buy it, request it from your local bookstore (tell them it’s distributed by Ingram and, likely, Baker and Taylor) or your public library.  Spread the word, tell your friends, Facebook about it, text each other your favorite quotes…or just kick back and indulge yourself with a powerful, literate offering, “a spook show that delivers everything it promises”.

And, needless to say, drop me a line here or at blackdogpress@yahoo.com with your thoughts and impressions.

I guess you can tell:  I…am…pumped.  Who wouldn’t be?  This book cost me 3+ years of my life and now that I’ve got it in my hands, I can honestly tell you it was worth every moment I devoted to it.

But don’t take my word for it:  pick up a copy and see for yourself.   Or, if you like, here’s an excerpt you can browse, a sneak peak at the best supernatural thriller since Linda Blair puked pea soup all over Max von Sydow:  

So Dark-excerpt

9 comments

  1. John

    Congratulations Cliff. You are so impressive. Ordering a copy right now. Can’t wait to read it again.

  2. Cliff Burns

    Mucho thanks, John. And please be a good fella and drop a review on Amazon, will ya, lad? You praised SO DARK THE NIGHT when it was a mere PDF. Now it’s grown up, put on a suit of paper and gone out into the big wide world to seek its fortune. And I couldn’t be more pleased…

  3. Pingback: John Miedema » Cliff Burns’ “So Dark the Night” is Now Available
  4. Cliff Burns

    John, if our paths ever cross, the first drink is on me. Thanks for showing respect toward an oddball Canuck scribbler who burned a lot of bridges…but still managed to meet some great folks along the way.

  5. SerenityFL

    I liked what you had to say in the comments of edrants.com; post title- “BEA 2010: The CEO Panel (“The Value of a Book”)”.

    You said: “As a writer, I can’t afford to be prejudiced against ANY technology that delivers the printed word to readers.”

    And for that, I’m going to buy your book, for my Kindle. There was no blurb so John’s review helped a lot.

    Thanks for taking the time to work “the entire fucking weekend formatting” your book for the Kindle. This is one reader who greatly appreciates it.

  6. Cliff Burns

    Please do let me know how my novel reads/formats for the Kindle. If I hadn’t had my wife doing the lion’s share of work as we went through the book page by page, I’m certain I would’ve gone out of my mind. The woman’s patience is just this side of divine.

    I’ve described many of the traditional editors and publishers out there as dinosaurs who see the meteor coming but have no idea what it means. I’ve spent the last three years giving my work away for free, developing a small but devoted cadre of readers. Most people in the trad publishing world would be appalled by the notion but I’m watching sales for So Dark the Night (in three different formats) and they’re looking darn good right now.

    Thanks for popping in and please make sure this isn’t your last visit. Oh, and if you like So Dark, please drop a comment or short review on the Kindle/Amazon site. Every little bit helps…

  7. Belle Starr

    just turned the last page….said to self, “ooooh that was good” Don’t remember that last time I said that after finishing a book..the Rosetti poem was marvelous. Well done man, well done.

  8. Cliff Burns

    Thanks so much–your praise is highly prized. I sold a batch o’ copies of SO DARK THE NIGHT to the big Saskatoon bookstores yesterday so let’s hope even more people will be following the adventures of Cassandra Zinnea and Evgeny Nightstalk in the days, weeks, months to come. Bless you for taking the time to drop into my joint and leave your impressions…

Leave a Reply

