“Death Threats” (Short Story)

images-1It’s been awhile, hasn’t it?

All this fun I’ve been having with Garageband means that I’ve been a trifle negligent with new blog posts and for that, my apologies.

But I’ll try to make it up to you by posting a new short story that I absolutely love.  This time it’s a longer effort, around 2000 words–titled “Death Threats” for reasons that will become clear as the story progresses.  I’ll post both an audio version and a PDF for those of you who either don’t like the sound of my voice (understandable) or who lack the ability to download the recording.

I have a great deal of affection for this story, which was written in mid-late May (2009).  Have no idea what took me so long to add it to this blog.  My guess is that this tale sort of fell by the wayside while I worked on the four linked stories that devoured my entire summer.  This is a stand-alone effort and I feel quite confident that it will find favor in your eyes (and ears).

Enjoy, my friends and please do let me know what you think:

Death Threats_ (Story)

Death Threats (PDF)

4 comments

  1. AnOminous

    Great little piece, i was indeed moved. Love the ernst character, and great narrative voice. Its a much-used theme, the 40-yr old death fear, but you really gave it a fresh touch.
    Thanx

  2. Cliff Burns

    “Ernst” was based on a real guy and the old building still stands down in Regina. Glad you enjoyed “Death Threats”, always suspected it was a charmer.

  3. Cliff Burns

    Mwa! Mwa! I blow kisses your way for being the first to leave a comment on this tale. Now perhaps you can explain to me what the hell possessed me to wait so long before adding it to the blog. Stoopid, that’s me…

Leave a Reply

