A quick note re: new addition to “Rarities” page

The other day I received an inquiry from a chap in Jamaica (gotta love that world wide ‘net) regarding my play “The Break:  Ten the Hard Way”.

It’s a a drama composed of ten monologues, employing a wide range of perspectives, radically different characters reacting to the impending end of a relationship.

“The Break”, like so many of my projects, started out as a writing exercise.  I wrote one monologue and another character, another scenario, immediately presented itself.  I didn’t know what to do with “The Break” once I’d finished it…and then, by chance, I caught an interview with two young Saskatoon actors, recent graduates of the University of Saskatchewan drama program.  I noted their names and contacted them.  Sent them the script and some time later “The Break” made its debut at the Refinery Theatre in Saskatoon, Josh Beaudry handling a very grueling acting assignment brilliantly.

I always thought this one would make the perfect “Fringe” show so, Josh, if you’re ever interested, lemme know.

CBC Radio producer Kelley Jo Burke also excerpted some of the monologues on her “Sound XChange” program.

I was delighted by the reactions this piece elicited and I’m pleased to be able to present it to you, for free reading and downloading.

I’m certain some of these voices, at least, will sound very, very familiar to you…

Go to the “Rarities” page (above) for your free copy

or click here for the free PDF of  The Break

6 comments

  1. kendi

    Ah yes, I recall attending a spanking performance of this little gem in Saskatoon. Kudos to all … writer, director and actor, nice to see how this piece was brought to life.

    A side note, snagged Righteous Blood for bedtime reading recently, …maybe not the best choice before bed… but loved it once again.

  2. Cliff Burns

    Yes, Miss, and it’s always a pleasure to know there are smart readers like you out there–all the encouragement an old scribbler like me needs to keep puttin’ one word ahead t’other…

  3. I refuse to put my real name here

    Just an idea….

    “I think a good novel would be where a bunch of men on a ship are looking for a whale. They look and look, but you know what? They never find him. And you know why they never find him? It doesn’t say. The book leaves it up to you, the reader, to decide. Then, at the very end, there’s a page you can lick and it tastes like Kool-Aid.”

    I obviously have too much time on my hands but I feel better for getting that off my chest

  4. Cliff Burns

    I suggest you copyright your idea now, today, before some literary predator like James Patterson snaps it up and makes it the central theme of his next book.

    P.S. Is it true , Patterson’s writing tool of choice is a crayon?

  5. I refuse to put my real name here

    not koolaid or lik-a-stik?

    ps I would copywrite it but I stole it from Jack Handey’s Deep Thoughts…maybe you have some good ideas I could steal?

  6. Cliff Burns

    Harlan Ellison says he has a standard answer when people ask him where he gets his ideas from:

    “Schenectady.”

    Huh?

    “There’s a service I subscribe to in Schenectady and whenever I need an idea, I give them five bucks and they send me one.”

    He claims invariably someone will ask him the address of this outfit in Schenectady…

Leave a Reply

