Apologies…and a brief explanation

images1Yes, I know, I have been less than diligent with my posts over the past while.  Always a sign that I’ve got my nose to ye grindstone and am plugging away on a project.

Lately, it’s been a lengthy radio play that has been stealing my days and nights.  Something I’m hoping to enter in the BBC Radio contest (deadline is the end of March).  As regular readers of this blog know, I never, never, never submit my work elsewhere any more, this site is the sole venue where you’ll find new writing by yers truly.  But, hell, this is the BBC we’re talking about and the Beeb is like Mecca for radio drama fans.

After the success of my last radio play, “The First Room”, I felt I wanted to stick with that format for the time being.  I’m also aware that this year marks the 40th anniversary of the Apollo 11 moon landing…so why not combine the two and–

Okay, no spoilers but I have written a very personal voice piece on the effect the lunar landing had on an impressionable kid and how that event influenced the rest of my life.

Later this week we’re going to have a live reading here at our home, so I can hear the play out loud.  This will provide invaluable help as I approach the final round of edits (have to have it off to England by the beginning of next week in order to make that deadline).

After the radio play is done, no rest for the wicked.  I want to do another quick revision of the long version of ‘The First Room” and post the text of that one here on Beautiful Desolation.  The version that aired on CBC Radio’s “Out Front” program was greatly condensed from the original and while producer Kelley Jo Burke did a lovely job, I wanted to present you with an opportunity to read the play the way it was conceived.

After that revision, probably diving into another big project–but I’ll post about that at a later date.

Hope you’ll continue to pop in for the occasional update–there are some great things coming up for this blog in 2009.  We’re now getting close to the second anniversary of Beautiful Desolation and I continue to be amazed and gratified by the number of folks who visit this site, read and download reams of stories, my two novels, my verse…and then take the time to drop a line to me here or via e-mail, telling me how much they’re enjoying what they’re seeing.

Bless you, folks, and as long as you keep coming, seeking out good writing, a point of view that veers from the herd mentality, I’ll be here.

Thanks, one and all…

2 comments

  1. Mike Cane

    I don’t get around these parts — or most any parts — as much as I did when I had a living blog, but I do manage to trek around still from time to time.

    An expanded First Room? OMG!!

    And an Apollo-11-themed radio script?!

    You have a plan to take over the world, don’t you?

Leave a Reply

