“Matriarchy” on CBC Radio this weekend…

More late, breaking news:

radiojpeg.jpg

“Matriarchy”, a particular favorite of mine, the best of a recent crop of mainstream short stories, airs on CBC Radio (Saskatchewan) this weekend (October 27th). The show is called Sound Xchange and it starts at 5:05 Saturday afternoon. The producer is Kelley Jo Burke–Kelley’s always been a big backer of my work and I’m sure she did a smashing job with “Matriarchy”.

The story is perfect for the radio. It was originally conceived as a writing exercise, the initial drafts were only four or five pages long. Later on, I went back and saw immediately that it needed an expanded narrative, which brought out more of the back story, which added layers to the narrator’s character, nuances not apparent in those early versions. I love this little beauty. More bitter than sweet, with a last line that just hums.

Here’s a link to the SoundXchange blog, where Kelley says such nice things about yours truly, I blush to repeat them.

SoundXchange

Skye Brandon reads “Matriarchy” and another tale, this one by me old crony Art Slade (Art Slade’s Page). Art and I have known each other for eons and it’s been a pleasure to watch his career flourish. “Stubb” is a solid effort and will give you a good idea why Art has achieved the stature he has.

If you somehow manage to miss the initial airing…well, you’re probably out of luck. I asked Kelley Jo but she said WGC rules stipulate she can’t podcast or post the story (that way you could download it later). So it looks like a one-shot deal. Enjoy it…and, afterwards, if you think about it, maybe drop a comment or two my way. I welcome your feedback.

Have a great weekend, folks.

2 comments

  1. Carrie

    In honor of Halloween I started reading “Righteous Blood”. I bought it from an on-line book store a few weeks ago. Unfortunately I can’t read like I use to so it will take me a while. So far I am very into it. I look forward to reading more.
    Regards,
    Carrie

Leave a Reply

