The Latest News


A bit of an update, covering a couple of points of interest:

First off all, here’s a link to a site that gives a partial credit list of the folks who are adapting my novella “Kept” into a feature length movie. The producers are affiliated with Twisted Pictures/Lion’s Gate, who brought you the “Saw” movies and, urk, “Hostel”. You’ll note my name is nowhere to be seen (surprise, surprise). I put together a brief synopsis for these people to use but so far they haven’t posted it. Too busy covering the latest sequel of a sequel or comic book adaptation, I suppose:

Next I wanted to let you know the good folks here at WordPress have given me permission to sell copies of my books through this blog (thanks, guys). Only two of my books are still in print so those are, obviously, the titles I’m offering. But some months back I assembled a chapbook-like compilation of about two decades of monologues and spoken word pieces (Voiceworks: 1987-2006). The idea was to send the book around in that format hoping to tantalize publishers that specialize in drama. The reactions were underwhelming so after five or six form rejections, I thought “fuck it” and stopped submitting it. This is very much a limited edition, only 15 copies that I’m making available.

Voiceworks (limited number available) $10.00

The Reality Machine $10.00 (Originally published in 1997). I love this collection of tales; very surreal and satirical. Includes favorites like “Also Starring” (selected for three separate major anthologies, including The Year’s Best Fantasy & Horror) and “New World Man”, which leads off a German edition of The 20 All Time Best SF Stories (my name made the cover, appearing alongside my hero, Philip K. Dick, and two other guys you’ve likely never heard of).


Righteous Blood (2003) $20.00 Two novellas dealing with contemporary evil, both of which have been optioned for films, including the aforementioned “Kept”. An intense book, influenced by the likes of Cronenberg, Polanski, David Lynch. Not for the faint-hearted.

Toss in five bucks for shipping and I’ll have them off ASAP. Might be a bit of a delay waiting for extra copies of Righteous to arrive from England so be patient. I’ll make sure to sign every copy too.

Here’s how to order:

Cliff Burns
1142 105th Street
North Battleford, SK
S9A 1S7

Make checks and money orders payable to yours truly–send along your e-mail address if you want confirmation of your purchase.

liarjpeg.jpgScored a couple of terrific items at the library booksale here in town, including the late Graham Chapman reading his Liar’s Autobiography (good stuff), a Don DeLillo novel I hadn’t seen before and transcripts of recordings made in the Oval office during the Cuban Missile Crisis. Twenty five cents each; man, you can’t beat that.

Still plugging away on my novella-in-progress but I’ve been hampered by my fingers (arthritis and/or nerve damage), which have slowed me down considerably. I’m forging onward but…some days it’s pretty tough. I’m a three finger typist and I hit the keys fucking hard…after two decades, the damage to my hands is pretty considerable.

mynardjpeg.jpgAnd, finally, some terrific news: my favorite band in the world, Tool, are coming to Saskatoon the last week in November. My friend Laird was quick on the draw and managed to secure us great tickets so he, Jesse (my nephew and fellow music freak) and I are off to Toontown the end of November for the concert of the decade. Fan-fucking-tastic.

That’ll do for now. More updates as events warrant. Stay tuned…


  1. Håkan Tendell

    Hi, Cliff!

    I just wanna thank you for your encouraging comment to the difficulties I’m experiencing right now. I’ll try to think that this too shall pass. I will fight it through.

    Thank you

  2. geekbetty

    I took my sister to see Tool in concert several years ago. She’s an absolute nut about Maynard. They put on an excellent live show. Have fun!

  3. Condor

    Hi Cliff!
    I’m happy to hear you secured tickets to see your favourite band Tool. Of course they pale in comparison to those demigods of original music — WEEN — ;) which are also touring Canada in November but no stopover in S’toon.
    Remember, we are getting older and it might be a good idea to bring along earplugs for some songs to save the decrepit remnants of your rock-shorn eardrums…

    Good luck with your new novella and i hope your typing claws improve (is it any better when writing longhand? then have your amanuensis type up the work?)

    p.s. can anyone advise me how i can include a nifty picture of myself (or suitable simulacrum) when i post comments?

Leave a Reply

